Not Alt. Media 2

img4d

This is an even less alternative project than the last video I posted. This is the video I produced (with Kristen Thometz) for SPJ (the Society of Professional Journalists). They’re giving Fran Spielman, the City Hall reporter for the Chicago Sun-Times the Lisagor Journalism Award, which is essentially an award for lifetime achievement.

It was incredible making this video, as I got to shadow Fran for a day, as well as attend a press conference with the mayor, where I signed in on the media sheet, and was filming alongside the local TV stations. My camera, as much as I like it, felt very small next to those huge broadcast-bazookas.

I also got to interview the editor-in-chief of the Sun-Times for this, as you’ll see in the video. So now he knows my name, and hopefully will be impressed with the outcome of the project.

The coolest part of this, though, is that this video will be shown publicly at the awards ceremony on Friday, downtown. It’s going to follow a piece produced by ABC7 Chicago, and the audience will include real, important people from the Chicago mass-media community. This could open doors.

Anyway, here’s the final product. Since it’s so late, I’m not going to post any music today. Hopefully this will be interesting enough.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

Let me know what you think! I still have a day to make any last-minute changes.

Leave a Reply

