Mish Mash

man

First of all, I want to explain the image above. It comes from the Honda World site when you type in a URL that doesn’t exist. But instead of a simple text explanation, they give you this wonderful sprite! I can’t tell if he’s bowing or sadly hanging his head, but I appreciate it either way. Good ol’Honda. Just another reason why I love ya.

Secondly, I want to share this video:

Vodpod videos no longer available.

As soon as it was finished, I could only sit in stunned silence as I realized how much I loved it. It’s like Fantasia on an acid trip. But with Kanye West at the end. Totally weird. Watch it again, just for kicks.

Think that wasn’t weird enough? Neither does he:

Vodpod videos no longer available.

Enough of that. Some music, instead.

Usually the Jackson 5 are the basis for some really incredible mashups. This first track isn’t like the rest, but it is charactaristically well-made. I made the mistake of listening to it with the volume on high, and realized that’s the only way to do it.

There’s more pop (both sample-wise and stylistically) in this second track, which is an excellent iteration of an “A vs. B PLUS” mashup (my own distinction).

I’ve been listening to Dan Deacon’s new album Bromst for a couple weeks now, and I was overjoyed to find that one of the songs was used in a mashup! And even more excited to hear that the vocal track it was mashed with is called “Stanky Leg!” Apparently “Stanky Leg” has been receiving some pretty negative reviews, but I think the result, tonight’s final track, is wonderful. It’s great too, since the Dan Deacon side gives you enough indie cred to make up for the vocals.

Enjoy! And I promise to get back to my ordinary updating schedule. Don’cha worry.

2 responses to “Mish Mash

  1. Pingback: Mish Mash « M is for Media

  2. Hahaha, so I really liked that first track and I decided to google it and track it down. I was surprised/happy to see that it was listed on Mashuptown.com and I thought of hopping right back over here to tell you. But then I got disctracted. (the school computers are soooo nice I do like a billion things at the same time) Well I hope over to my email after downloading all the tracks and what do you know? The next email i read is the updated from mashuptown. I crazy. And that probably didn’t make anysense. But the moral of the story is that Bootie has posted their top ten for the month: http://www.bootiesf.com/

Leave a Reply

