I Wouldn’t Know

detroit_then_and_now

One of the reasons I haven’t posted in the last couple of days is because I’m back in Detroit, and the journey yesterday took most of the evening/night. However, since I’m here now with nothing to do, I don’t really have an excuse not to post anything.

Detroit’s a funny place. Race really dominates a lot of what does on here, but it’s not the same kind of interaction I’ve seen elsewhere. Being white, I occupy less than 9% of the population, but there still seems to be a weird sense of white-privilege that pervades the city, so I never really feel like a minority. That said, I never feel like a majority, either. I don’t know how to describe it.

Generally, race has absolutely no effect on my interactions with people here. I’ve found that in person-to-person actions, there’s little acknowledgment of the difference (with the exception of a couple late-night re-fueling encounters with homeless men who thought I was someone from the suburbs who got lost). Thus, I’m largely ignorant of some of the finer delicacies of race relations.

The same goes for the internet. I can find whatever I want on it, and I assume that goes for everyone else as well. Of course, it helps that I’m a dork, and that’s what the internet is made for. Anyway, I found this interesting article on AdAge that discusses the effect of “blackness” on black websites.

“Why do you people have to attach race to everything, including websites?” 

That question, though rarely asked out loud by mainstream marketers, is often implied in other questions when they ask about Black media…

…Given the web’s format, where one can interact with information and people anonymously, it’s no wonder that many marketers and some consumers view targeted sites as separatist or discrimination in disguise.

I imagine it must be a struggle to maintain a racial identity and not catch flack for it. In fact, I know it is. I suppose it’s just another piece of white privilege not to have to worry about it.

Feel free to disagree.

To the music!

The vocals on this first track have lost most of their danceability, but it still sounds sweet.

I don’t like the original instrumental from this second track, but the quality of the combination merits posting.

This last track is weird. But interesting! Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

