Not Alt. Media

c

While this blog is supposedly about alternative media and whatnot, I had a pleasant little experience as a member of the mainstream media. I didn’t think of myself in that way until I was called out on it, but it’s true– writing for an institutionalized paper, even if it’s a student one like The Phoenix, is writing for a mainstream media outlet.

I suppose I should elaborate. Andrew Card, the former Chief of Staff for George W. Bush, came to Loyola to speak, at the behest of the College Republicans. The Phoenix gave me the story, and I was able to interview the man face-to-face. We differ politically, but he was very polite and well-spoken, and we got along well. It was interesting to interview someone who is more famous that I’ll ever (probably) be, though.

Here’s the video that I put together for the paper’s website:

Vodpod videos no longer available.
He actually pointed me out as a “member of the media” in front of the crowd, but not in a bad way. It just reminded me that even in college, it’s possible to have journalistic credibility. Which is a good thing.

The connection between Card and this first track is a bit long to explain, but it has to do with the Queen of England.

This second track has Queen in it, but it’s not the same kind.

I’m not even going to try to make a connection on this last track— I just like it.

Enjoy!

2 responses to “Not Alt. Media

  1. Better then most of the stuff I see coming from my peers, and they’re actually studying film.

    • Haha, thank you.
      Perhaps not being constrained by the actual rules of film-making gives me extra freedom… Or something.

Leave a Reply

