Zenvironments

acid-in-the-ice-cream_setjpg

Today I just want to share the artwork of Zach Johnsen, an artist from Portland. Kanye West’s blog showed a picture by him, and I followed the link-maze to get here, his personal website (titled Zenvironments, the source of this post’s header).

I got totally lost in his work, and I think the best thing I can do is just re-post a couple of bits here.

caffe-lattejpg

harvestingjpg

stumpsjpg

There’s tons more on his site, so plese check it out.

He also has a blog, apparently, here on Blogger.

I can’t decide what I like most about his work. It all appeals to my most sensitive aesthetic soft-spots. I’m an unabashed fan of pen+ink with watercolor, and the addition of cutouts and paper/wood art just makes it irresistable to me. Your tastes may differ, but I’m absolutely blown away.

Anyway, to the music.

Since I found the subject of today’s post from Kanye, I decided to make him the star of this first track, from Party Ben. The ending is especially fine.

The inclusion of the title song for The Fresh Prince of Bel Air immediately qualified this second track to be posted.

I always thought the vocals in this final track was one of the weaker bits of NOW 3, but this mashup makes me appreciate it in a whole new way.

One response to “Zenvironments

  1. Acid in the ice cream… that’s awesome.

Leave a Reply

