Papercraft 3

3081450843_65fe6933d4_bjpg

Today’s post will be much more of a “show, not tell” entry. I was browsing, this evening, as I often do, the Vimeo HD Gallery page. It’s a great place to go if you’ve got a little time to kill, since the stuff that’s featured is usually pretty interesting. A lot of the movies are little more than camera games, but they’re still neat to watch.

One of the movies I came across (at the time that I’m posting this, it’s moved up to the number one position) was this wonderful bit of papercraft stop motion.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

It was funded by Adobe as a showcase for their Creative Suite 4, and I’m glad to see that corporate sponsorship of the arts hasn’t died out completely, these days. It’s interesting to see how it’s dried up, though, notably on some of my favorite Public Radio podcasts– though I’m not too sad to see the Budweiser commercials go, it’s not good news for the producers.

Anyway, instead of just presenting one cool video I found, this post has a bonus extra. I love to see how art is made, epecially since I’m largely self-taught, and I do things in an impressively inefficient manner. A notable aspect of this papercraft video is how clean it looks, which is made possible by the techniques they used to cut out their pieces. Apparently, eyeballing all your cuts is inferior to computer-designed templates… Take a look:

Vodpod videos no longer available.

That may not inspire you to necessarily go out and make a video like this yourselves, but it’s certainly cool to see how it’s done, should you get the itch.

Here’s the music.

I admit, I was sold on this first track by the first few seconds it was playing. Though they say not to judge a book by it’s cover, I think I was justified in my choice here.

A part of me thinks I posted this second track before, but I my spotty records indicate otherwise… It’s good, anyway.

It’s a shame that this final track is a bit bit-rate-burbly. It’s really well put together, otherwise, and is a nice example of a songwriting-style mashup done well.


Leave a Reply

