Lists

ar05_04jpg

I’ve been vaguely keeping up with my travel journal since I’ve been back home, but it hasn’t been as easy, since the book itself doesn’t fit in my pockets. It doesn’t quite chronicle my day as precisely as before, but it at least keeps a good record of the interesting places that I find myself.

My pride was diminished somewhat this evening, however, when I saw that my neighbor Sarah keeps a full planner of everything she does. My iPod/iCal have scattershot weeks where I put down everything I need to do, but I mostly rely on my raw memory to remind me (to limited success).

Both my journal and Sarah’s planner are completely put to shame by the Feltron Report. Nicholas Felton compiles endless data about his life and what he does/where he goes. All of that data is put into his absolutely beautiful layouts, and are presented to the world as his annual reports, which are stunning in their depth. As the years have gone past, the reports have gotten more and more intricate, and the 2008 list is thorough to the point of recording Grand Theft Auto IV miles alongside his “real” miles travelled.

If you’re not impressed with the sheer amount of numbers, you can appreciate these reports solely on their value as artwork– his design sense is impeccable. Each successive year showcases that year’s popular aesthetic, as well, in a kind of time-capsule.

I realize that I’ve been straying a bit from the guerilla/alternative media aspect in this blog lately, but this post gets back to those roots, at least a little bit. You can order a paper copy of each report, a small-time alternative media outlet in and of itself. Felton also works on Daytum, a cool internet data-tracking site. Anyway, he’s producing a good bit of work away from the mainstream, and is doing it in the best way possible: in style.

Tonight showcases more music from Mashuptown.

Though I’m not terribly partial to the electronic-sounding mashups I find so often, the electronica sounds in this first track have a strange raw sound that makes me really like them.

This second track is a bit more involved, right up to the point of noisiness.

“Beautiful Girls” is one of my favorite pop songs, and the Commodores (because of “Brick House”) are one of my favorite funk/soul bands– thus this final track is pure gold, to me. It’s a little bit-rate-burbly and it cuts short, but I still love it for what it is.

Leave a Reply

