Home Again

c

I’m back, and plan to resume my regular schedule of posting. I would have started yesterday, but I’ve been rather ill. In fact, I’m worse today, but I enjoy this, so hopefully I’ll get some positive physical reaction out of it. I don’t know how I got this sinus/cold thing, but it may have to do with the fact that out of the 60 hours I was in Florida, I only slept for about 10. My body can only handle so much.

One of the things I did while I was down there was go see the movie Watchmen. I loved it, of course. A well-made super-hero flick always gets, me especially when it’s directed by  Zack Snyder. If you haven’t seen it yet, I won’t spoil anything, but the movie’s crazy. The whole thing. Parts of it are a tad melodramatic, as any super-hero stories are, however. seizing onto those aspects, someone created this movie, as the intro to Watchmen as a mid-nineties Saturday-morning cartoon:

If that were on back when I watched cartoons, I would have been hooked. My big one used to be Batman, Superman Adventures, though even that came late in the game for me. Once Yu-Gi-Oh started taking up the 10:00 slot, I knew I was done (and no, I’m not going to provide a link– I don’t think it deserves one). Speaking of Superman, a comic that Gabe told me about and I started reading in Quimby’s is one that you should definitely check out, if graphic novels are your thing: Red Son. The idea is that the whole story of Superman would be different, if his spaceship crashed 12 hours later– landing him in the Soviet Union. Simple, brilliant idea, good delivery.

Today, the music is going to be from a different source than usual, and the finish of these pieces is very high.

This first track shows what an A vs. B mashup can turn into, if it’s taken to the next level. The chorus on this track works exceptionally well.

On the other hand, this second track shows how good it can sound if you mash a whole mess of songs together. It’s a little between the DJ and Songwriting style.

The final track is pretty standard A vs. B, but sometimes that’s all you need.

PS– I’m listening to the looped background music on “Silk Spectre II’s” page on the Watchmen website, and it’s one of the most relaxing songs I’ve heard in a long time. We’ll see if my phone can figure out what it is, since the site’s a Flash blob, and I can’t get the music from the source code. Shame shame.

Leave a Reply

