Vicarious Vacationing

02-28-09_1855_0001

WOOOO!!! SPRING BREAK ’09!!!

I am now fourteen hours into Spring Break 2009, and it is 20 degrees outside. The high tomorrow is a modest 29, but to be honest, I’d been hoping to at least clear the freezing point. 29 just doesn’t feel too overwhelmingly like “spring.” I spent at least an hour online tonight trying to find the cheapest escape to Florida (in the next few days), and the cheapest round-trip flight I could find was $270. Not bad, but it comes with a rental car– which I can’t use. Maybe I could get down to Miami and hitch-hike.

Chances that I’ll make it to a coastline that isn’t covered in ice seem low (that’s a picture of Nauru, a mysterious island with which I have a love-affair, in case you’re wondering). Luckily, technology is coming (somewhat) to the rescue. My friend and neighbor Roxy is currently in Florida with her family, and I’m having her send me picture-messages of the warm world she’s currently inhabiting (the header-photo is one of them). Now, it’s not the same as actually being there, but as long as I can live her vacation vicariously through her, I think I’ll survive.

I also celebrated spring break by watching about a fifth of Season One of The O.C. If you don’t know the show, that’s probably for the best. If you do, don’t judge me. Regardless, it made me feel better. If you’re wondering how this relates to media at all, you’re probably justified. I’m just pointing out the positive potential effects of MMS messaging and Torrents.

If anyone has a good idea of how to escape the cold and snow for cheap, please let me know. The temperature may be getting up to the forties by the end of the week, but I’m still pretty sure that if I lay on the beach, I’ll turn blue before I turn tan.

The music tonight is… Um… Warm themed.

50 may say he’s a hottie, but I’m more interested in The Trammps’ contribution to this first track.

This second track has Los Angeles in the name. That qualifies.

Here we go. This final track is all about heat, and stuff.

4 responses to “Vicarious Vacationing

  1. ANN ARBOR IS WARM AND SUNNY NATHAN. YOU SHOULD COME TO ANN ARBOR. REALLY. OOP, I HAVE TO GO, SORRY, THE GIRL’S ARE TAKING OFF THEIR BIKINIS. BYEBYENOW.

  2. Motherly hugs are also warm!! Warm fresh chocolate chip cookies, Hot baby back ribs ….. Not to lmention one very warm dog to lie on your feet.

  3. HEY, you can stay at my place. Get a flight to Fort Lauderdale. I might even pay for your flight if you can fit a PS2 and FFX in your suitcase, hahaahahhaa

Leave a Reply

