Color Copy

031-550x183

I admit it– the subject of this post is ripped directly from Kanye West’s blog. I hadn’t read it before last night, and I’m really quite impressed with it– there’s tons of good stuff. It’s broken down by category, and while I’d known he was into fashion (and music, of course), I was delighted to find all the cool art and design he was posting. There’s some controversy as to whether or not West actually writes his own blog, but I don’t really care. As long as there’s interesting content, they’ve got my vote.

Anyway, the “cool thing” that I wanted to share was this video, which is apparently a “chromatherapy” art installation called “Patachromo,” by the French artist SuperBien:

Vodpod videos no longer available.

Chromatherapy is controversial itself, as it’s widely regarded as pseudoscience. There are arguments for the power of color on the psyche and body, but the detractors’ main point is this: chromatherapy is nothing more than flashing colored lights on someone. That may be, but I’d like it. If there were a series of colored lights above my bed that pulsed above me as I fell asleep, I bet I’d be more relaxed. You never know! If nothing else, it makes for a beautiful installation piece. If anyone can find this as a screen saver, let me know.

For the music today, I have three more from Norwegian Recycling.

The first track features “I’m Yours” again, but this time with an A vs. B structure to the song, against Akon.

I couldn’t get this second track out of my head all day, so I’ll share it with you. It has a really fun, kind of dorky attitude that fits the vocals perfectly.

My mouth literally fell open when I first heard this final track. It’s just a very basic A vs. B mash-up, but the instrumental track is a part of my very soul. Bonus points to whoever figures out what it is first (Roxy and Gabe don’t count).

PS– Whoever reached this site by searching for “how to draw a gorilla in a battle form,” I hope you found what you were looking for. Chances are that you didn’t, but I’ll make sure to include something along those lines in the future.

5 responses to “Color Copy

  1. I don’t know what is “A vs. B mash-up” but I like the last tract.

    • A vs. B is the most common style of mash-up. It’s where the DJ takes the vocals from one track (the A track) and layers it over the instrumental from another track (the B track). It usually means that the vocals remain mostly intact, while the instrumental track is cut up to match the new vocals. It seems simpler than some of the other styles, but it’s actually one of the most challenging, as it requires the DJ to match beats and melodies for the entire time, rather than just for a few seconds at a time, a-la-Girl Talk.

  2. I LOVED the chromotherapy . I listened to it with and without sound. Both ways were effective though I have to say I liked the music a lot.

  3. I love the teenage dirtbag song, when I had my mp3 player it was one of the most played songs.
    I liked the the lose your FANTASY song as a concept but I couldn’t stand listening to the whole thing. I think that it is best for a Girl Talk type song. Or someone should come up with something more in the middle, but I don’t know what that’d be.
    A new genre of music, the length of ringtones.

  4. ay, my friend said he was friends with you and to chekc out your site and i really like it and the Mash-ups are great. i recently started a site up a few days ago and plan to include a lot of mash up artists among a lot of other music. link exchange?

Leave a Reply

