Expansion

bild-12

Today, though you wouldn’t know it unless I told you, this blog is moving into a brave new world. I’ve invited my old friend Daniel to share his thoughts as another contributor to this blog. I think this is an important for a few reasons:

1) It gives this blog a life beyond the confines of the class I started it for. I’ve gotten pretty hooked on this stuff. What started out as a little experiment in a class has turned into a daily adventure of searching for things to share with the community who reads this, no matter how large or small it may be. I’d like this to become, in some way, a continuing effort, and expanding the authorship beyond myself (especially when I’m off in the woods for long swaths of the summer) is one way to do that.

2) It gives the blog an alternate perspective. One of the biggest problems I have with blogs, and why I initially avoided writing one, is that it’s often just the limited view of one person. Just take a look at the injustice that I heaped upon The Monkees, which commenter Kelly called me out on. Blogs everywhere have these kinds of gaffes, mostly because one person can’t be expected to know everything. Daniel has already expressed some differing opinions on some of the issues I’ve posted, so it will be refreshing to see more of a dialogue open up. Hopefully it will inspire people to comment, as well!

I hope this change is exciting to everyone else as it is to me. I think you’ll appreciate Daniel’s particular expertise at finding interesting things on the internet– I have for years.

In honor of our new author, I’ll address one of his concerns, and post some songs from different source. I first heard of Norwegian Recycling through Daniel, and his songs are really incredible.

I don’t remember all the different songs in this first track, but there are eight of ’em. Anyone who can manage to make that many tracks lay together well is a genius, as far as I’m concerned.

It may sound obvious, but mashing a hip-hop song with the track it sampled in the first place sounds awesome. Especially if the track is as famous as Beautiful Girls. This second track has that, and more.

This final track also features a song that blew up the airwaves in the summer of 2007, but interestingly, I’m Yours wasn’t officially released until 2008. The internet spread it prolifically prior to that, however, and its final release was actually significantly different than the earlier track. Just an extra little tidbit.

PS– The image for the post is the Google Images result for “Norwegian Recycling.” I don’t know how it’s related, but I like it.

One response to “Expansion

  1. Is it bad that I know that image nathan? It’s part of an art project. I thought that it was part of a series of ‘fake’ tanks, but searching my google reader nixed that:
    It’s called “german panther” from 2007 by Hans Hemmert.
    http://ingesidee.de/page.php?pgid=63&lang=en
    though the title of the exhibition (which I guess is separate from the piece) has a different title which google translated for me as “this preparation of readiness” which goes along with description of the first time it popped up in my RSS feeds from Craft Magazine “After a while in the gallery, the balloons shrivel up and it becomes obvious that the tank was just full of hot air.” http://blog.craftzine.com/archive/2008/03/balloon_tank.html?CMP=OTC-5JF307375954

Leave a Reply

