Mars

 

Image Copyright LIFE Magazine

Image Copyright LIFE Magazine

First of all, I want to apologize for my failure to update yesterday. I generally update right before I go to bed, and last night I just couldn’t do it. To make up for it, I’ll add a treat to the end of the post. Hopefully you won’t hold it against me!

Also, before I get into today’s post, I have a short follow-up to my YouTube post. This video makes use of the “annotations” function in YouTube in an interesting way. In fact, I even hesitate to call it a video at all. It’s really cool, though, so you should check it out. I lost at level 21 (though of course you can always pause, but that’s cheating).

Anyway, I was reading this article on Mars in my absolute favorite publication, National Geographic. I just really want to share the article around, but it got me to wondering if I’d consider NGM an alternative media source. I’d like to, but I don’t think it is… It’s been around for ages, and it has a pretty impressive readership. However, in class we deemed NPR an alternative media source, and they share many of the same qualities. They’re both non-profits, they both tell unusual and relatively unknown stories, and they both reach a somewhat alternative crowd. I don’t know. I can’t decide. All I really know is that many of the most interesting people I know read NGM and listen to NPR. That must count for something.

Anyway, to the music.

This first track is an odd one from DJ Earworm, but as usual, it’s impeccably produced. It’s a little slow, but it’s really well done.

Keeping with slow DJ Earworm mixes, this second track is one of my favorites of his. I don’t know if it’s a side-effect of the mixing/tempo changes, but Lennon’s voice sounds strange. Not bad, but strange.

This last track changes the pace a bit, but the soaring strings have a great effect. I think most soaring strings have that effect on me, as a matter of fact. Whatever works, right?

And as promised, here’s something to make up for my delinquency yesterday. Thanks again to Joe H. for the link. I kind of hate the first track on the album, but the rest of it is really great. If you love Girl Talk, you’ll at least like this.

HOLLA.

Leave a Reply

