Papercraft!

 

Image Copyright Julien Vallée

Image Copyright Julien Vallée

My friend Kelsey posted this artist’s work on her blog last week, and I wanted to share it with everyone else. I can never get over how good papercraft looks. There’s something so lo-tech and stunning about it. I also like actually working with the paper itself, as opposed to struggling with Photoshop or Illustrator. I also respect how much time goes into making pieces like this– I spent over six hours cutting out paper for my Drawing I final project last semester, and that didn’t even come close to the amount of paper manipulation that real papercraft artists do. They’re probably much quicker and more adept at handling the materials than I am, but a piece like the image above probably took over thirty hours to create. I wouldn’t even mind paying several hundred dollars for a piece like that!

Whenever I see really good papercraft, I’m probably going to post it. I just love the stuff. I may post my own pathetic attempts at it sometime, too, but for now I’ll just leave you with this image. It was my desktop picture for months, and looking at it again, I might put it back up.

In preparation for the crush of homework tonight, I looked up the mash-ups I wanted to share throughout the day, since that’s probably the most time-consuming aspect of this blog (not that I’m complaining– I’ve listened to more good music this past week and a half than in the past year).

I really like the epic swells on the instrumental half of this first track. I think it helps drive the mood better than the original music, actually.

I’m also always impressed when two rap songs can be mashed as well as in this second track. It may actually be rather easy, since it just depends on precise beat-matching, but it sounds great.

Since I’m going to be up for a while, I’ll end on an up-beat track. This is usually about as far into the electronica realm as I like to wander, but that’s just my personal taste.

On to homework!

Leave a Reply

