Roots

p1010050-2006-04-16-at-18-35-22

I hardly did anything today. I was productive for about twenty minutes, and it was in the most low-tech way possible. I needed a new interview for my article, but didn’t have my video camera or microphones with me. Instead, I just went upstairs with a pencil and a piece of scrap paper, and interviewed face-to-face. I guess it means that I won’t be able to use that interview in my audio piece, which is a shame because it was so good, but it was pretty refreshing.

I’ve been pondering the idea of alternative media recently, and was struck by the backwards-ness of it all. This blog is supposed to be alternative media, but it’s syndicated through WordPress, which is a huge content provider. Since it’s one of the main blog hosts in the US, it’s practically mainstream in itself. At the very least, it’s well-known. My little interview with a pencil on the back of an envelope, even as low-tech as it is, has become more alternative. It’s edgy in its crappyness. Granted, it will be published in a newspaper format, but even that is becoming alternative (except for luddites). It looks like Zines may be the only thing that keep their status, whether alternative or mainstream. They’re always throw-aways. It’s part of their charm.

Enough about me. Here’s the music!

Thanks to Joe for this link, but be advised that you can’t just listen to it on this site like the others– you actually have to navigate to that page and hit play.

I know I shared a mashup with this Jackson 5 song a couple of days ago, but this one is too good to pass up. Besides, I love that song.

I generally like mashups with more than just two songs, but this mix sounds great.

Only twelve hours until the end of the Bush regime! I can’t wait.

2 responses to “Roots

  1. face to face?? GROSS!😀

Leave a Reply

